time to unplug.

Well, thanks to by brother in law I have several hundred 45 rpm records to search through for some dance music. So here I am playing records instead of grading papers. I know bad teacher bad, bad.

Oh well, I guess sometimes I have to do things for me. Today it’s playing records searching for good dance music. Although some of the music I am listening to is very old, like the Osmonds, The Partridge Family, Roy Orbison, Three Dog Night.

It has however, been a pleasant trip down memory lane. However, I think most of what I need I have found on some country and western CD’s.

It is a lot of fun going through all this old music.  I actually started this hobby so I would spend less time on the computer. With an online class, I am plugged in almost constantly and listening to music, planning dances, playing guitar are all ways to get me to unplug. Being unplugged is good if you want to have a good marriage. So now I spend a lot of my time trying to get off the electronics and spend time talking with my wife and enjoying my life.

Don’t forget to unplug and live.

 

About merlehall

I am a technology teacher for Macon Middle School. In Northeast Missouri. I have been using an online classroom with Moodle for the past several years. My students use a hybrid online, brick and mortar class. My classes are designed to support the core classes in that: In 8th grade we study the Constitution of the United States using smartboards, podcast, vidcast, internet research and word. In 7th we study economics using HTML, game creation, ebook writing, podcast, game playing, excel spreadsheets, and database design. In 6th grade we study geography and math using Monopoly with checks, spreadsheets, and work on keyboarding, speed typing, touch typing and dictation. In addition to education I am an avid fisherman, hunter, hot air balloon lover, front porch setter, square dancer, so you will also be seeing information on these subjects as well from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

